Gluten Free version of Amish White Bread

So last week was a bread revolution!!  I was of course perusing Pinterest and it seemed to be full of this recipe for Amish White Bread on allrecipes.com.  So I joined the revolution and since my husband was also requesting it via my sister-in-laws facebook page because she was making it too… I jumped in and made the bread.  I’d been looking for a recipe as my go to homemade bread anyway and it turned out WONDERFUL!!  The easiest yeast bread I have ever made for sure!!  Here is a picture of how mine turned out:


Beautiful don’t you think?!  🙂  It was super easy, only a few ingredients and delicious to boot!!  If you decide to make it be sure to read the comments on the allrecipes site, it seems you can lower the sugar content to 3 Tbsp!!  I will also be trying to add some whole wheat flour instead of all white to try to make it healthier still!

Well after I made the bread I also shared the picture with my mom who thought it looked good, but can’t eat it because she has Celiac Disease and needs to eat gluten-free foods.  But she said she was going to try to convert it and she did just that this weekend.  I wanted to share that recipe here too so that those that need a gluten free alternative can still indulge in this wonderful bread!!

GF Amish White Bread

Gluten-Free Amish White Bread
Prep 20 Min  Cook 45 Min  Total 1 Hr 5 Min
Servings: 8

Ingredients:
1-1⁄4 cups warm water 110 degrees F/45 degrees C
1⁄8 cup vegetable oil
1-1⁄2 Tbsp white sugar (I’m sure you could substitute honey)
2-1⁄2 tsp active dry yeast
3⁄4 teaspoons salt
2⁄3 cups each of brown rice flour, tapioca flour and corn starch
2 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp vinegar

Directions:
In a large bowl,add all the dry ingredients.
Mix in water and oil. If using a stand mixer, beat at medium speed for 3-4 minutes.
Put in 1 greased and floured 8×4 bread pans. Let rise until just about to the top of the pan, about 15 minutes.
Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 45-50 minutes.

Also note that my mom does live at a pretty extreme altitude (7300 ft.) so you may also need to tweek it little (more or less cook time, more or less liquid and possibly more yeast) to make it work at sea level. Another note if you haven’t made much gluten-free bread the “dough”  is much more like a thick cake batter and only needs to rise once much quicker! I think I’m going to have to try this too!!  She did say “if they like and miss the taste of a real yeast bread they will love this!”

Happy bread making!!  Enjoy!  I’d love to hear how it goes if you make either version!

Linking up at Our Simple Country Life

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you so so so much for posting this!

Leave a Reply

