Homemade Play Dough

I love making my own play dough!!!!  I found a recipe in one of my many community cookbooks that my grandma gave me.  I love it because I know what is in it for the inevitable tasting, I can make it what ever color I want and I’m sure it’s much cheaper than buying it!  I usually make it with cheap bleached flour, but I also make it gluten free (corn or soy, because they are cheap) for when my mom comes!  I also recently had some really old rye flour that I thought instead of throwing it out I would make play dough with it and it turned out fine as well!  I’ve added glitter, koolaid for coloring and smell, it’s really up to you and it’s so quick and easy!!

image

Green and purple are rye flour, blue is regular unbleached flour and pink is gluten free corn flour

Stove Top Play Dough

1 c. flour
1/4 c. salt
2 Tbsp. cream of tartar
1 c. water
1 Tbsp. oil
Food coloring

Mix flour, salt and cream of tartar in a medium pot.  Add water, food coloring and oil.  Cook and stir over medium heat 3-5 minutes.  mixture turns globby and then eventually will form a soft ball in the center of the pot.  Turn out and knead on a lightly floured surface.  Store in an airtight container or plastic bag.

A lot of recipes will call for you to store your homemade play dough in the fridge, but I’ve never had a problem with it going bad not in the fridge.  It will dry out just as any play dough so make sure to care for it accordingly.  Gluten free play dough seems to dry out quicker, also when making gluten free play dough it usually takes a little more flour especially when kneading the dough at the end.  It also has a bit different more course texture than gluten flours but I’ve never tried it with anything other than corn or soy so that might help.

Have fun!!

Posted on April 28, 2011, in Homeschool, Kiddos, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very cool, we’ll have to try this ourselves!

Leave a Reply

