The Problem With Leftovers

I don’t know about you but I am not good about using up all of my leftovers.  I forget they are in the fridge or just don’t really feel like eating the same thing the next day.  But then my fridge gets full of leftover food that I don’t know how long has been in there so ends up being wasted.  So to fix this problem I thought I would try something new, I created a Leftover List.  I made a magnetic paper pad by gluing one of those magnets that come in the mail or you get somewhere for something you are never going to use, onto the back of a pad of paper that was just lying around and it became my Leftover List.

I put this on the front door of my fridge and when a leftover goes into the fridge I write it on my list along with the date so I know how long it has been in there!  I also might write the number of servings left so I can cross one off if I eat one or know there is enough for another dinner for all of us or not.  When I eat something, use something or clean something out I cross it off!  This way I know what my containers are being used for and possible lunch or dinner ideas!!  A quick easy way to waste less food and figure out what to eat for the dreaded lunch time, it has been working pretty good so far!  I have more space in my fridge because I eat more of the leftovers and there is less food wasted because I know what’s in my fridge and how long it’s been there!

Time to get busy!

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Distractible Me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I LOVE all of your great ideas! This one is fabulous…I have the same problem with leftovers and never any room in my fridge!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

